OCCSW Celebrates the 2024 Women of Honor

Press Release: April 26,2024

Okaloosa Commission on the Status of Women

For more info contact Jeanne Rief 850-685-8027

On Thursday, May 2, 2024 at 2:00pm the Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women (OCCSW) hosted their annual Women of Honor event at the University of West Florida (UWF) Emerald Coast Campus. The ceremony was held in Bldg 1, Room 126.

The “Women of Honor” was first established as “Wall of Honor” by the OCCSW in 1997 as an idea of its members who thought it would be a nice way for someone to honor the women in their lives whose works might be unknown to most others. The event is always held in May around Mother’s Day for those who might want to honor their Mom.

Each woman’s name is added to a plaque that hangs on the Wall of Honor at the UWF Emerald Coast campus library. A letter that includes the honorees photo and brief nomination bio along with the names of the person or people who nominated her, will be placed in the Book of Honor near the plaque. At the Women of Honor Ceremony, details about who they are and the impact they had on the nominator will be shared.

The 2024 Women of Honor are

Audrey Adams – Assistant Director for the Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Communications Division

Megan Blancho – President of Okaloosa Chapter of Florida Association of Women Lawyers, dedicated to the development of professional relationships among women lawyers

Daquiri Champion – Retired Registered Dietician in Nephrology, Pediatric Nutrition, Counseling and Geriatric Nutrition

Sherry Cronley – Active volunteer with Fort Walton Beach Elk’s 1795, formerly a school teacher and now homeschooling her 14 year old grandson

Sheryl “Sherry” Jones – Community & Public Relations Director for One Hopeful Place, Sheryl is responsible for securing funds

Pam Lee – Volunteer with Elks Lodge 1795, Mardi Gras Club, River Rats, Destin Elementary, Corvette Club, Arc of the Emerald Coast and American Business Women’s Association

Kathy Miller – volunteer, teacher and leader for 59 years at First Baptist Church’s International English School, longest running in the State of Florida

Amanda Negron – CEO of Hsu Foundation and serves on the Senior Board of the Snowden-Horne Society, Children of the American Revolution

Elizabeth “Liz” Qualiana – Residential Stability Coordinator Supervisor who works with people to find housing at One Hopeful Place

June Scroggin – an activist volunteering with Republican Women of Okaloosa Federated (RWOF), Fresh Start, 100+ Women Who Care, Sleep in Heavenly Peace (building beds) and more

Melinda Sousa – Founded Visiting You Senior Home Care dedicated to helping

seniors find companionship.

Neko Stubblefield – Vice President of Membership & Community Development for Eglin Federal Credit Union, fostering valuable partnerships

Debbie Tate – Community Affairs Office Manager for Okaloosa County Public Schools Foundation

Sabina Zunguze – A certified suicide prevention speaker and CEO of the Tatissa Foundation for Suicide Prevention and Social Justice Inc.

The Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women was established by the Okaloosa County Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) in Resolution 95-09 on February 1, 1995. The purpose of the OCCSW, through research, education and communication, is dedicated to the elimination of all barriers to a woman’s achievement of her fullest human potential.

For more information on the OCCSW visit the website occsw.com or call 850-685-8027.